Reflection on The Scarlet Letter

Overall, I think the novel examines themes of the how sin can completely alter an individual. I think this generalization can be seen in all of the characters as the novel progressed. For instance, Hester feels the need to repent for her sins through acts of charity and even goes as far as to return to the town that first condemned her. Dimmesdale goes from healthy minister to a man incapable of escaping the guilt of the sin that weights down his heart. On the other hand, sin changes Chillingworth from a scholar to a sociopath.

I think this is an important piece of literature as it is one of the first American novels. It identifies the American character and is different in that it is a story for a story’s sake. It does not have any political purpose as many works before this time had. Instead, it focuses on literary elements such as symbolism and character development. In reference to the project, I thoroughly enjoyed this blogging experience as I believe that it has helped me find my voice as a writer. I also gained experience in writing my own idea and creating my own prompts that were not guided by an outside influence. I think some challenges that came with the process was finding a style that perfectly blended the charm of informal writing with the scholarly effect of formal writing. Finding a topic to write about also proved to be a challenge. Sometimes it became difficult to focus on one topic and not go off on a tangent. In a final analysis, I think the project increased my confidence and creativity as a writer. In addition, it forced me to become a more focused reader as I attempted to analyze the text.

Leave a comment